Logo designs and a poster and some news for the musically-inclined

Busy this week. Preparing for brand re-launch of Kops Records, which I’m excited to say is really moving forward. Luckily these guys have been awesome: receptive to new ideas, open to suggestions and good at deciding on what they want and what they don’t. One of the first orders of business to show Kops has changed is to feature new talent every Saturday.

We’re starting on the 23rd from 1:30-5:30pm with Your Pretend Boyfriend, sample their stuff at:

http://www.myspace.com/yourpretendboyfriend 

In Toronto next Saturday? Drop by, 229 Queen West and have a listen, we’re all super-nervous to hear what you think, and while its not quite launched yet, Kops already has a strong commitment to service at its core. Branding or no, its got something that sets it apart.

Here’s a poster showcasing the fact that Kops now has live performances, hand-painted by yours truly:

See it before it's smothered in extraneous copy!

See it before it's smothered in extraneous copy!

The Future of Sound… Unearthed! was my idea. Only by delving into what’s been before do we discover what is to come. It’s a concept that applies across all fields, and I’ve discussed it in one of my most popular (and rather embarrassing) posts before.

Here are some designs for the new logo. Client’s old one was a cartoon dog that needed to be put down, and in its place we’re trying to create a cartoon dog that more directly appeals to the sensibilities of Kops as service brand. While the idea of a mascot is something out of Leo Burnett’s book, it could have potential here:

These were the first sketches of a cartoon dog, starting with Offissa Pop as inspiration.

These were the first sketches of a cartoon dog, starting with Offissa Pop as inspiration.

These were done for random surveys of incoming customers, apparently the dog's too mean-looking.

These were done for random surveys of incoming customers, apparently the dog's too mean-looking.

Because customers don't like an angry logo...

Because customers don't like an angry logo...

 

Lastly, I’ve been doing a bt of freelance layout work, which isn’t really worth showing here. In case you were wondering, this is why I’ve been gone most of the week.

I’ll have some more portfolio spec work up tomorrow. Thanks so much for your encouragement and comments, I think Best Western wins out of Crest toothpaste, meanwhile I’m going to take the weekend and really try to hammer out some better ideas while there’s still time. I think the Apathyisboring stuff is a keeper, which frees me to do stuff that isn’t necessarily long copy for my last campaign. 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Logo designs and a poster and some news for the musically-inclined

  1. PS I wrote up a brief for this campaign a while ago, which I can post if there’s interest. I don’t know if anybody actually wants to see my briefs, and I would sort of feel naked with them on display.

  2. I like the #7 & #8 dog icon. Although I think it should be simplified more. But they are all nice sketches.

    yan

Leave a Reply

