Radio: Spec Ad for Crest Toothpaste 1

crest-copy

Because nobody really does radio well, and because I don’t really like what’s being done with toothpaste today, I’m doing a campaign for Crest toothpaste:

Colgate Radio Scandalous Spec Ad1

by Richard Tseng

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

 

>UNCLEAR WHITE NOISE, LIKE TAPPED PHONE-LINE PLAYBACKS

NIXON: Watergate.

 

>HEAVY WINDS, RAIN ON WATER, MUFFLED SCREAMS, CRYING

BUSH JR: Katrinagate.

 

>FAINT SNOWY TV SOUNDS, CLINTON’S FAMOUS ‘I DID NOT HAVE…’ MAYBE A SUGGESTIVE WOMAN’S MOAN

FEMALE NEWS ANNOUNCER: Monicagate.

 

>STATICKY TAPE, MUFFLES OUT CURSE WORDS AS BLAGOJEVICH SAYS, ‘The Senate Seat’s a … valuable thing. They’re not willing to give me anything except appreciation…’

BLAGOJEVICH: Blagogate.

 

>DENTIST’S DRILL, HIGH-PITCHED SCRAPING ON TEETH, BREATHING THROUGH MASKS, SAYS ‘SAY IT!’, PAINED ‘AH’ SOUND THAT DENTISTS TELL YOU TO MAKE BAD JINGLE IN BACKGROUND ‘GIVE US A SMILE, GIVE US A…’

 

MUFFLED DENTIST: Cole—

 

>INTERRUPTED BY SOUND OF BRUSHING, TAP RUNNING, *PING*, RELAXING ‘AH…’

>FOLLOWED BY ½ SECOND OF SILENCE

ANNOUNCER (Exaggerates the word) : Cr e s t. The sound of a healthy clean.

 

Notice that I don’t mention its tartar-fighting properties, or how many dentists prefer it, I emphasize a little more the lifestyle decision of a Crest user, and I try to differentiate the brand. Currently, it’s always felt like one toothpaste brand is easily interchangeable with another (or at least it is between Crest and Colgate).

I could have gone with a radio-announcer intro (“And now, Crest Toothpaste presents sounds of scandal”), but I feel people tune whatever comes after that out. I also tried to contrast the muffled noises with the silence preceding the declaration of the product. I know I don’t have the actual spot taped for you, but I’m hoping you can picture it in your head.

All thoughts and advice appreciated, as always.

3 responses to “Radio: Spec Ad for Crest Toothpaste 1

  1. Hi
    Excuse my english.
    I write from Italy.
    I am a collector of radio promotions.
    I wanted to ask politely if Possibility buy one or two of your radio promotional shaped tube of toothpaste (Radio: Spec Ad for Crest Toothpaste 1).
    This radio can not find anywhere.
    Thanks from Italy

    Marco

  2. People can actually picture the radio ad in their minds! That’s a great one. The part where one dentist was about to say, “Cole-” was funny! Haha! Of course, they would never speak of the product’s competitor. It’s probably against the laws of advertising. 🙂

Leave a Reply

